Cardswaps Time to Shine blog hop

Hey everyone!  I’ve got a bit of a longer post for you today but well worth it!

In case you haven’t heard, there is an awesome crop going on over at Card Swaps this week. Challenges and games will be posted May 16-19, 2012 and you have until May 22, 2012 to get your projects posted to the appropriate thread. Don’t worry if you’ve not participated before, as there are many members that will be around to offer support and encouragement. Everything you need to know can be found  in the forum.  At the end of the hop,  you will be taken to the crop and we do hope you’ll join in. As you hop, collect the letter on each participants blog and unscramble them to enter into the drawing for a prize for one lucky hopper! You will be given details at the bottom of my post.

You will be unscrambling a word with a letter received at each blog you visit.. Once you collect ALL the letters, the last hostess in the blog hop will direct you to the thread in the forum where you can find all the details you need to enter the drawing. All hoppers collecting all the letters, unscrambling the word or phrase, entering the game by following the directions in the forum, and leaving feedback on EVERY blog they visit WILL be entered in to a random drawing held on May 23, 2012. ONE lucky hopper will have their name drawn and will win a prize!! So, make sure you visit every blog and find the letters. There are just so many chances to enter and win

The blog hop “theme” goes with the crop title of “Time To Shine”. We were allowed to create any project we wanted as long as it followed the criteria that it has to be able to be used for a day in which someone has their “time to shine”, such as birthdays, graduations, weddings, bridging ceremonies, communions, or whatever. Not only were we asked to create a project but we were also asked to share something about our favorite memory of a day when it was our “time to shine”.

Today I have for you this cute 50th anniversary card that I created for my in-laws anniversary.  I think 50 years together is remarkable and I can only imagine how many time to shine days they have had during those years.

Almost everything used to create this card is from my stash or a swap.  As you know I’m desperately trying to use up all the massive amount of supplies that I already have.  The DP was sent to me in a swap as was the actual image.  I wish I knew who made it because I’d love to make some more cards with it.  The image was colored using copics and then I added some stickles for my ‘shine’.  The 5 0 was cut out using my Don Juan cartridge and then I added some chunky glitter to make it stand out.  The ribbon is American Crafts (I am so into their ribbon right now!) and the pearls are just from my stash.  The sentiment is from my stash as well.

One of my favorite TIME TO SHINE days was my 30th birthday.  I was living in Red Deer away from my family and friends as I had been transferred for work.  I didn’t know anyone and I was really missing my friends.  You can’t imagine how surprised I was when a bunch of my friends came up from Calgary to visit me to help celebrate.  They spent the whole day with me and that evening they planned a surprise birthday party for me at a favorite club that I went to.  For that whole day I was a queen.  Everyone paid attention to me and my friends made it the best birthday party ever!  I have never had another birthday like it, and honestly, I doubt that I ever will again. Although it was my day to shine, I think my friends shared in the spotlight.

Now, you should have arrived here from Laura’s blog.  If not, go back and check out her blog and collect your letter. Then collect my letter and hop on.  I’ve posted the blog hop list at the bottom of this post, just in case you get lost!

NOW THE LETTER YOU HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR FROM ME IS “L”

thanks for stopping by and HAVE FUN ON THE REST OF THE HOP!  You are heading over to Carolyn’s blog next.

The list of hoppers, in case you get lost.

Brooke Smith -CardMaker blog

Ana

Tammy—you are here!

22 thoughts on “Cardswaps Time to Shine blog hop”

  1. What a great card. Funny image. I know what you mean about using up your stash. I really need to do that too!

  2. Awww! What a sweet story. You have a great bunchof friends. Great card! I know your inlaws will love it!!

  3. Before I announce the winner of my birthday hop, I want to thank all who made it the success it was! My crafty friends who showed their awesome talent and all our crafty followers who hopped along! I was I could pick you all but random.org only picks one.

Leave a comment