2 Old Bats: October

Hey everyone! It’s October! It’s the Halloween month and we have a great inspiration piece for you this month on the 2 Old Bats Halloween Challenge blog!

Ok, so I had these wooden pumpkins in my box and thought that I would take a stab at them!

I was inspired by the black & white pumpkins in this pic as well as the gingham pattern.

Here’s what became of them:

Now I did the one on the right first. I used the Tim Holtz Mica Stain in the Empty Tomb and then went over it with my Simple Stories Gingham stencil and some Nuevo Glimmer paste in Moonstone. This actually didn’t turn out quite the way I wanted it to. The empty tomb was a bit too light and the moonstone actually had a bit of a blue tinge to it.

For the second one, I sprayed it first in the Black Soot Spray stain and then using the stencil again, I went over it with the Tim Holtz Distress Grit Paste in the Snowfall from the Christmas collection. Again, going with the idea of using these holiday products for their colors not their collections. This got me a bit closer to what I had envisioned but I think just some good old fashioned white textured paste probably would have done the trick and got me that stark white that I wanted!

I did want it to be a bit rustic which is why you can see the small bits of the paste. I didn’t want them to be totally smooth.

Now it’s time to head on over to the blog and see all the great inspiration that the DT has drawn from this picture…what will you create??

4 thoughts on “2 Old Bats: October”

  1. Fun pumpkins. I would never have thought to work with wooden pumpkins so what a great idea for future use. Love the Buffalo Plaid one.

Leave a comment